Western Sephardic Diaspora Roadmap


  • Project identification: Western Sephardic Diaspora Roadmap (WSD Roadmap)
  • Coordination: Carla Vieira (CHAM, NOVA FCSH)
  • Researcher at CLUNL: Rute Costa (Lexicology, Lexicography and Terminology Group)
  • Start date: 2021
  • Funding: The project has the support of international funds; Chair of Sephardic Studies Alberto Benveniste, University of Lisbon: partner and co-financing institution.


The WSD Roadmap is supported by Rothschild Foundation Hanadiv Europe and developed by the CHAM – Center for the Humanities and the Digital Humanities Lab, both research units of the Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas da Universidade Nova de Lisboa, with the partnership and co-funding of the Cátedra de Estudos Sefarditas Alberto Benveniste of the Faculdade de Letras da Universidade de Lisboa.

Our goals are:

Making primary sources on the Western Sephardic Diaspora more accessible to researchers, archivists, librarians, and interested public;
Diagnosing the state of accessibility, cataloguing, and preservation of documentary collections, and identifying the need for improvements in this respect;
Optimising resources and sharing data with other related projects and platforms;
Encouraging future projects; in particular, those crossing different geographies of the Western Sephardic Diaspora, and using Digital Humanities and Information Science methodologies;
Stimulating the development of Jewish Studies in Portugal.

(Transcribed from the project website)


Carla Vieira (Principal Investigator, CHAM, NOVA FCSH)
Daniel Alves (Co-coordinator, IHC, NOVA FCSH)
Paula Ochôa (Co-coordinator, CHAM, NOVA FCSH)
Danielle Sanches (IHC, NOVA FCSH)
Joana Paulino (IHC, NOVA FCSH)
Maria Aires Carmo (NOVA FCSH)
Miguel Rodrigues Lourenço (CHAM, NOVA FCSH; CESAB, FLUL; CEHR-UCP)
Susana Bastos Mateus (CESAB, FLUL; CIDEHUS–UÉ; CEHR-UCP)

Advisory board:
António Manuel Lopes Andrade (CLLC, University of Aveiro)
Bruno Feitler (UNIFESP)
Carsten L. Wilke (Central European University)
Claude B. Stuczynsli (Bar-Ilan University)
Michael Studemund-Hálevy (University of Hamburg)
Patricia Murrieta-Flores (Lancaster University Digital Humanities Hub)
Rute Costa (CLUNL)